Nepal, stray dogs - infinite compassion

Nepal, stray dogs

Ear-piercing barking permeates the nights in Kathmandu. Like in many areas of Nepal there are so many street dogs. They urgently need the help of humans as they have to endure hard lives on the roads. The dogs don’t have shelters, they eat garbage, they get sick or they are injured, sometimes tortured, poisoned or hit by a car. They don’t count in human society and are often ignored by the people when they are sick or close to death.

The „Animal Nepal“ care program aims at reducing the population of street dogs in order to diminish their suffering. This is done by castrations as one female dog and her offspring give birth to several thousand dogs in their lives! 75% of the puppies die early though due to the grim conditions on the roads. „Animal Nepal“also provides vaccination for the dogs (against rabies etc.), medical care for injured animals and last but not least raises awareness for animal care.

In 2017 „Animal Nepal“ is planning to castrate 1,500 dogs in Kathmandu, 1,100 in Lalitpur, 300 in Lumbini and 100 in Swayambhu. Additionally, 1,600 dogs should be vaccinated and 1,000 should receive medical care. The total costs for these activities will be approx. USD 140,000. The plan is to castrate up to 10,000 dogs in the next years in order to create a healthy population, which can live harmoniously with the people.

In addition to this active help in the streets, „Animal Nepal“ is also politically active in the Nepalese government by campaigning for laws for animals’ rights. The animal rights activists also go to schools, factories and local communities to raise people’s awareness for the rights of animals. Not only is such education important for dealing with street dogs, but also for treating pets at home. There are only few Nepalese who feel responsible for their dogs. Many have several dogs without being aware of their needs.

Every year about 200 people die in Nepal because of rabies, which can be transmitted by dogs to humans. Therefore, the Nepalese should have a vested interest in the health of street dogs.

If you wish to support this care for dogs, please send one-off or regular donations to the account of Infinite Compassion, quoting ‘Dogs in Nepal’ as a reference.

Nepal, Straßenhunde

Ohrenbetäubendes Gebell erfüllt jede Nacht Kathmandu. Es gibt hier sehr viele Straßenhunde, so wie in vielen Gegenden Nepals. Sie sind dringend auf die Hilfe von Menschen angewiesen, denn sie fristen ein hartes Dasein auf der Straße: Die Hunde haben kein schützendes Dach über dem Kopf, fressen Abfälle, sie werden krank oder verletzt, manchmal sogar gequält, vergiftet oder angefahren. Sie haben keinen Stellenwert in der Gesellschaft und werden oft von Menschen ignoriert wenn sie krank sind oder sterben.

Das Tierschutzprogramm „Animal Nepal“ hat zum Ziel, die Population der Straßenhunde einzudämmen, um das Leid der Tiere zu verringern. Dies geschieht durch Kastrationen, da eine Hündin und ihre vielen Nachkommen im Laufe des Lebens mehrere tausend Tiere gebären! 75% der Hundewelpen sterben allerdings frühzeitig aufgrund der harten Bedingungen auf der Straße. „Animal Nepal“ sorgt auch dafür, dass die Hunde geimpft werden (gegen Tollwut etc.), dass verletzte Tiere medizinisch behandelt werden und nicht zuletzt findet Aufklärungsarbeit der Bevölkerung zum Thema Tierschutz statt.

Nepal Strassenhunde_1_Before

2017 plant „Animal Nepal“ 1.500 Hunde in Kathmandu zu kastrieren, 1.100 in Lalitpur, 300 in Lumbini und 100 in Swyambhu. Weiterhin sollen 1.600 Hunde geimpft und 1.000 medizinisch versorgt werden. Insgesamt fallen dafür Kosten von knapp 140.000 US Dollar an. In den nächsten fünf Jahren sollen bis zu 10.000 Hunde kastriert werden, um eine gesunde Population zu erhalten, die im Einklang mit den Menschen leben kann.

Neben dieser aktiven Hilfe auf der Straße setzt sich „Animal Nepal“ auch politisch bei der nepalesischen Regierung für Tierschutzgesetze ein. Außerdem gehen die Tierschützer auch in Schulen, Fabriken und in regionale Gemeinschaften, um Aufklärungsarbeit zu betreiben und Achtsamkeit für Tiere in den Köpfen der Menschen zu fördern. Die Aufklärungsarbeit ist nicht nur wichtig für den Umgang mit Straßentieren, sondern auch für den mit Haustieren. Nur wenige Nepalesen sind verantwortungsvolle Hundebesitzer. Viele halten gleich mehrere, wissen aber nicht was die Hunde brauchen.

Im Jahr sterben ca. 200 Menschen in Nepal an Tollwut, die vom Hund auf den Menschen übertragen werden kann. Die Bevölkerung hat also in diesem Punkt auch ein persönliches Interesse daran, dass die Straßentiere gesund sind.

Wer diese Fürsorge für die Hunde gern mit einer Spende unterstützen möchte, gibt einfach im Verwendungszweck ‚Hunde in Nepal‘ an.