Nepal, School and Water Projects in Tsum Valley - infinite compassion

Nepal, School and Water Projects in Tsum Valley

Chumba and his family live in the Allgäu in south Germany. In 2009 he returned to his home area Tsum Valley for the first time after an absence of 30 years in order to see his mother. As a seven-year-old boy he was sent from there to Kathmandu because his mother could not feed him. When he saw the present poverty and simplicity in his home area he spontaneously asked the village community what they needed most. They requested him to set up a school for their children. As a result the first school was built in the Tsum Valley in 2012. Since then Chumba visits his former home region once or twice a year in order to render assistance there.

Water project, established 2016

The scarce water resources on the slopes of the Himalayas largely ran dry after the 2015 earthquake and water had not been available there for months. So young girls and women had to make daily, hour-long walks to the water supply point. Chumba took care that the Gerimoditar/Dholakar village community received a water supply point closer to them. This required water to be pumped from a spring in a neighbouring valley over the mountain crest. The Project is a complete success. Now, 70 houses have proper wash and water facilities immediately nearby and this makes everyday life a lot easier.

This project was supported by Rapunzel und Hand-in-Hand.

2016 construction of a solar heating plant for a hospital

Together with many helpers Lama Pasang from Tsum Valley established a simple hospital with a maternity ward in the local area of Lamagaun. He had already asked Chumba in 2015 whether he could not build a solar heating plant, so that the hospital would have light and above all a heated delivery ward in winter. This wish could be fulfilled this year (2016).

Moreover, Chumba could distribute another 460 pressure cookers so that each family in Tsum Valley now has a pressure cooker of their own which facilitates the preparation of meals considerably.

Aid for earthquake victims in 2016

In September 2016 Chumba made contact with an organisation which was prepared to airlift for us pressure cookers to Tsum Valley, free of charge. So all families from the upper and lower Tsum Valley received those very helpful pressure cookers – a total of 770 pieces. The families came running from afar and village by village was supplied. The respective village councils had drawn up precise lists to ensure that each family received a cooker.

School in Yarcho, built in 2015

After construction of the schools in Chhekampar and Ripchet the inhabitants of the isolated village of Yarcho had also requested Chumba to build a school. As a result, in 2015 Chumba together with the village council looked for a plot of land for the school which is exactly located between the three villages around Yarcho. So all children from these villages can attend school. The school building was not damaged during the earthquake one month later and could be used as a good temporary accommodation for the people.

Water supply line in Hawandara and satellite telephone in Ripchet, 2014

There is only one trade route that leads to Tsum Valley and which is climbed daily by hundreds of people and large convoys of pack animals. Along the route there is no water for some kilometres and there is only one tearoom in Hawandara. After suffering a stroke the childless owner of the tearoom had to rely on his wife alone for daily carrying up the water from the river far down. With Chumba’s help a water supply line was laid to this place, so that travellers can be served in future and the woman’s livelihood is guaranteed.

Ripchet the village were the second school was built is in a very remote area and cut off from the outside world. With Chumba’s help a satellite telephone could be installed which is jointly operated by the villagers as a kind of cooperative. So they can call their relatives in Kathmandu and more importantly ask for help in case of medical emergencies.

School in Ripchet, Lower Tsum Valley, built in 2013

After the first school had been built in Chhekampar children from Ripchet also attended it. However they had to make a three-hour-long walk every day. Upon request from the parents another school was built directly in Ripchet by Chumba and the village inhabitants. From its start the school was also attended by the mothers so that even two female teachers were required. Unfortunately this school was completely destroyed during the devastating earthquake in 2015 and had to be re-built from scratch.

By the way: Buddhist teacher Lopön Tsechu Rinpoche had two of his four monasteries in Tsum Valley and did long retreats there, time and again, because (among other reasons) there is also a cave of famous Tibetan yogi Milarepa.

School in Chhekampar, built 2012

The majority of the population in Tsum Valley is illiterate, because the Nepalese Government opened the borders of this Valley for foreigners at the end of 2008 only. Up to then it had been a restricted area, a region which had been accessible to selected people only. As a result, however, Buddhist culture in this “forgotten” Valley could be preserved untouched like nowhere else in this world.

In order to make sure the children there get in touch with today’s world Chumba together with the villagers built the first school in his native village which was welcomed with great joy. Mothers, too, can learn how to read and write there.

Nepal, Schul- und Wasserprojekte im Tsum Valley

Chumba lebt mit seiner Familie im Allgäu. 2009 ist er zum ersten Mal nach 30 Jahren in sein Heimattal Tsum-Valley zurückgekehrt, um seine Mutter wiederzusehen. Von dort war er als siebenjähriger Junge nach Kathmandu geschickt worden, weil seine Mutter ihn nicht ernähren konnte. Als er nun die Armut und Einfachheit in seiner Heimat sah, fragte er spontan die Dorfgemeinschaft, was sie am meisten bräuchten. Sie baten ihn, eine Schule für ihre Kinder einzurichten. 2012 wurde daraufhin die erste Schule im Tsum Tal gebaut. Seither besucht Chumba seine alte Heimat ein oder zweimal im Jahr, um dort Unterstützung zu leisten.

Wasser-Projekt, gebaut 2016

Die spärlichen Wasserquellen an den Berghängen des Himalaya sind nach dem Erdbeben 2015 zum großen Teil versiegt und seit Monaten gibt es dort kein Wasser mehr. Die Mädchen und Frauen müssen täglich zu Wasserstelle gehen, die eine Stunde entfernt ist. Chumba sorgte dafür, dass die Dorfgemeinschaft Gerimoditar/Dholakar eine Wasserstelle in ihrer Nähe bekam. Dazu musste aus der Quellgegend im Nachbartal Wasser über den Bergkamm gepumpt werden. Das Projekt war ein voller Erfolg. 70 Häuser haben nun einen Wasch- und Wasserplatz in unmittelbarer Nähe, was den Alltag deutlich erleichtert.

Das Projekt wurde durch Rapunzel und Hand-in-Hand gefördert.

hand-in-hand-logo_1

Bau einer Solaranlage für ein Krankenhaus, gebaut 2016

Lama Pasang aus dem Tsum Tal richtet gemeinsam mit vielen Helfern von dort ein einfaches Krankenhaus mit Geburtsstation ein – in Lamagaun. 2015 schon bat er Chumba um Hilfe für eine Solaranlage, so dass das Krankenhaus Licht und vor allem auch im Winter einen beheizbaren Geburtsraum hat. Dieser Wunsch konnte in diesem Jahr (2016) erfüllt werden.

Auch konnte Chumba weitere 460 Dampfdrucktöpfe verteilen, so dass nun jede Familie im Tsum Tal einen eigenen Dampfdrucktopf hat, was für die Zubereitung der Mahlzeiten eine große Erleichterung darstellt.

 

Erdbebenhilfe 2016

Im September 2016 fand Chumba eine Organisation, die bereit war, umsonst für uns Dampfdrucktöpfe ins Tsum Tal hochzufliegen. So erhielten alle Familien aus dem oberen und unteren Tsum Tal die sehr hilfreichen Dampfdrucktöpfe – insgesamt 770 Stück. Von weither kamen die Familien angelaufen und Dorf für Dorf wurde versorgt. Die jeweiligen Dorfräte hatten genaue Listen geführt, damit jede Familie einen Topf bekam.

Schule in Yarcho, gebaut 2015

Nachdem die Schulen in Chhekampar und in Ripchet gebaut waren, haben auch die Dorfbewohner des abgelegenen Dorfes Yarcho Chumba um den Bau einer Schule gebeten. Daraufhin wurde 2015 dort oben, gemeinsam mit dem Dorfrat, ein Stück Land für die Schule gesucht, das genau zwischen den drei Dörfern um Yarcho liegt. So können die Kinder aus all diesen Dörfern in die Schule gehen. Das Schulgebäude ist einen Monat später beim Erdbeben unversehrt stehen geblieben und konnte so vorübergehend als gute Unterkunft für die Menschen genutzt werden.

 

 

Wasserleitung in Hawandara und Satellitentelefon in Ripchet, 2014

Es gibt nur einen einzigen Handelsweg, der ins Tsum Tal führt und täglich steigen hunderte von Menschen und große Karawanen hier hoch. Auf der Strecke gibt es über einige Kilometer kein Wasser und nur eine einzige Teestube in Hawandara. Nachdem der kinderlose Betreiber der Teestube einen Schlaganfall erlitten hat, musste seine Frau täglich alleine das Wasser vom Fluss weit unten hochtragen. Mit Chumbas Hilfe wurde nun eine Wasserleitung dorthin verlegt, damit Reisende weiterhin versorgt werden können und auch der Lebensunterhalt der Frau gesichert ist.

Ripchet, das Dorf, in dem die zweite Schule entstand, ist sehr unzugänglich – ohne Verbindung zur Außenwelt. Mit Chumbas Hilfe konnte nun ein Satellitentelefon installiert werden, das die Dorfbewohner gemeinsam in einer Art Genossenschaft betreiben. So können sie ihre Verwandten in Kathmandu anrufen und vor allem auch um ärztliche Hilfe bitten, wenn sie benötigt wird.

 

Schule in Ripchet, unteres Tsum Tal, gebaut 2013

Nachdem die erste Schule in Chhekampar gebaut war, sind auch die Kinder aus Ripchet dorthin gegangen. Allerdings mussten sie täglich einen dreistündigen Fußweg bewältigen. Auf die Bitten der Eltern hin, wurde 2013 direkt in Ripchet eine weitere Schule von Chumba und den Dorfbewohnern gebaut. Diese Schule wurde von Anfang an auch von den Müttern besucht, sodass dort gleich zwei Lehrerinnen benötigt wurden. Leider wurde diese Schule während des verheerenden Erdbebens 2015 komplett zerstört und musste neu aufgebaut werden.

Übrigens: der buddhistische Lehrer Lopön Tsechu Rinpoche hatte im Tsum Tal zwei von seinen vier Klöstern und hat immer wieder lange Retreats (Zurückziehungen) hier gemacht, u.a. weil es hier auch eine Höhle des berühmten tibetischen Yogi Milarepa gibt.

 

 

Schule in Chhekampar, gebaut 2012

Die Mehrzahl der Bevölkerung im Tsum Tal ist analphabetisch, da die nepalesische Regierung erst Ende 2008 die Grenzen zu diesem Tal für Fremde geöffnet hat. Bis dahin war es ein ‚Restricted Area‘, ein Gebiet, das nur bestimmten Personen zugänglich ist. Dadurch jedoch konnte die buddhistische Kultur in diesem ‚vergessenen‘ Tal wie kaum woanders auf der Welt unberührt erhalten bleiben!

Um den Kindern dort den Anschluss an die heutige Welt zu gewähren, hat Chumba 2012 in seinem Heimatdorf zusammen mit den Dorfbewohnern die erste Schule gebaut, welche mit großer Freude angenommen wurde. Auch Mütter können dort lesen und schreiben lernen.